Skip to main content

Installation of Martin Dewey Whitaker as President of Lehigh University, 1946

Identifier: SC MS 0075
Contains some correspondence and working papers of the committees charged with making the arrangements for the ceremony, and the programs, which include the texts of the speeches to be given that day which include remarks by Dr. Zay Jeffries, Vice President of General Electric Co.; Eugene Grace, President of the Board of Trustees; Dr. Thurman Delna Kitchin, President of Wake Forest College; Dr. Arthur Holly Compton, Chancellor of Washington University; and Dr. Whitaker.


  • 1946


Conditions Governing Access

Collection housed remotely. Users need to contact 24 hours in advance.

Conditions Governing Use

Collection is open for research.


0.4 Linear Feet (1 Box, 0.4 linear feet)


Martin Dewey Whitaker was inaugurated and installed as President of Lehigh University on October 20, 1946. The material here includes working papers, and correspondence of the committee, chaired by Prof. V. F. Larkin, which made the arrangements and copies of the 2 programs used that day.

Biographical / Historical

Whitaker became president of Lehigh University in 1946, and made renovations to many buildings, including the building of 2 first year residence halls. He also enlarged and rededicated the University Center. He died in office.


The materials are arranged according to format.

Related Materials

SC LVF W578 Whitaker, Martin Dewey, 1902-1960
Installation of Martin Dewey Whitaker as President of Lehigh University, 1946
Special Collections Staff
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description

Revision Statements

  • 2012-03-29: Revised by Arielle Willett

Repository Details

Part of the Lehigh University Special Collections Repository

Lehigh University
Linderman Library
30 Library Drive
Bethlehem PA 18045 USA
610-758-6091 (Fax)