Coal mines and mining
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings
Found in 6 Collections and/or Records:
Identifier: SC MS 0005
Overview A collection of financial records, including receipts, bills, statements, etc., in four separate Estate Accounts, administered by the trustees of the estate of Asa Packer, and Lehigh University covering the period May 1879 through 1972.
Identifier: SC MS 0084-2
Overview The Birkinbine Engineering Company got its start through Henry P. M. Birkinbine. His son, John, gained early engineering experience through various water supply projects in and around Philadelphia; this experience later helped direct the Birkinbine Engineering Company’s involvement in many water-related projects around the country in the late 19th century as part of the improved public sanitation initiatives. The Birkinbine firm also specialized in mining engineering, both in the United States...
Identifier: SC MS 0120
Overview The Lehigh Coal and Navigation Company was a prominent coal mining and shipping company first established in 1820 with the merger of the Lehigh Coal Mining Company and the Lehigh Navigation Company, both of which operated in the Lehigh Valley area of Pennsylvania beginning in 1818. The Company owned and operated an extensive system of coalmines in Pennsylvania’s Carbon and Schuylkill Counties, two canals, and several railroads and railways. The Lehigh Coal and Navigation Company is credited...
Identifier: SC MS 0275
Scope and Contents The collection contains approximately 384 documents (deeds, titles, indentures, correspondence and leases) for anthracite coal lands, 40 envelopes, 20 maps, two pamphlets, one photogravure, and one large colored "painting." In general, the items are dusty, stained, crumpled, and some are very fragile.The earliest date mentioned in the documents is 1773 (Tomlinson survey of land) referred to in a later dated deed to the most recent items from the Peca Coal Company dated 1962. The...
Identifier: SC MS 0036
Overview Three typescript reports of Lehigh University Mining Engineering Department’s mine inspection trips made 1922, 1924, 1926. Two of the reports are travelogue itineraries as well as noting mines and mills observed, the third is a more technical discussion of the mines visited. Reports are by Robert G. Pfahler EM‘23, George A. Howland EM’27, Robert A. Harrier EM’27, John P. Cox EM’27, and Paul W. Sinwell EM’27 all studying for the Engineer of Mining degrees. According to the notes in the...